Thread: Can You Teach An Old Dog New Tricks?

User Info Menu

Default Can You Teach An Old Dog New Tricks?

Some back ground.
    I played seriously from 1976-1985 and did quite well for myself. Although I was totally self taught and sin of sins, never sat and studied the rudiments, I just did everything by ear.

Now after a 24 year break, I have started playing again in March of this year and have been pleasantly surprised how much has come back (although lacking pace) and how many new things I seem capable of.

However, I really want to do it properly this time and have thought long and hard about lessons to master the rudiments etc. I must be honest and say I have no desire to learn to read music and running my own business, I am not sure I have the spare capacity to take it on board anyway.

Two other things concern me.
    1) As I am set in my ways, is it really possible to teach an old dog new tricks?
    Have any of you ever taken lessons many years down the line - how did you get on?

2) I have also looked at a lot of teachers via their websites and have been, to be honest, shocked at how poor some of their own playing is! I am not comparing myself to them, but you know something is not right when their timing is out and you can spot lack of natural ability a mile off.

So I am very much open to suggestions. What would be a good course of action? I really feel I need some guidance or are there some dvds that would help me out.

I know we are all different, but I'd appreciate some feedback.
    Thank you in advance.
    PROUD TO BE ENDORSED BY DUALLIST PEDALS
    Drums: Phil Collins Pearl DLX | Pink Floyd DW Exotic Bird's Eye | Natal Bubinga Custom Fusion | Cymbals: DIRIL & UFIPeDrums: 2Box DrumIt 5
    BACK BEATING DRUMMING BLOG ||| PINK FLOYD DW KIT ||| PHIL COLLINS PEARL KIT
    www.graham-collins.com/drummer ||| www.pinkfloyddrums.com ||| PHIL COLLINS PEARL KIT

User Info Menu

Default Re: Can You Teach An Old Dog New Tricks?