Thread: Need some advice

User Info Menu

Default Need some advice

I just recently discovered this site and this is my first post.I started playing drums a year and a half ago and I am beginning to have issues with my right hand going numb which causes me to have difficulty holding the stick.Any advice on what I can due to eliminate the problem or at least better it.Appreciate it.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need some advice

wow.. it goes numb?!
    Id seek medical advice mate, sounds like it could be a bit sinister.
    A build up of lactic acid in your hands can cause your muscles to "burn" and seem slightly painful the only course of action you need to take there is to strengthen the muscles in your hand.. By drumming more and more and more of course :P
    www.youtube.com/dannyatcranny

PHROGGE'S AQUARIAN ARMY

User Info Menu

Hey mate,

Wow, that doesn't sound good at all. Medical advice would be a good idea, but some things to look out for are whether you are holding the stick too tight. Try warming up your hands before playing by stretching and getting the fingers working to loosen yourself up.

I hope that helps, if it doesn't work get a doctor to check it out and talk to a drummer in person (maybe a teacher) that can sit down and observe what you're doing and maybe pick up on something.

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat Robert!

Depending on what part of your hand is experiencing the numbness, it could be a Carpel Tunnel Syndrome where a nerve gets "pinched" in the wrist. If you shake your hands and the numbness eases, it would point toward the Carpel Tunnel Syndrome. Definitely have that checked out.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Thanks for the advice,