Thread: Noob recording, how to communicate with band members?

User Info Menu

Red face Noob recording, how to communicate with band members?

Hey guys!

FIRST POST here. I've enjoyed reading the board! Lots of valuable info here! I'm a self taught drummer and have been drumming seriously for the last 2-3 years, though I've drummed for about 8. Mostly rock/indie for the first few but now metal.

I've never had anyone give me a critique or lesson. Over the last year I've been playing with a metal band and have improved a lot! I've been working at the double bass for a year now as well. (However, I've only used the metronome religiously over the last two months... ) I've also been trying to break all of my bad habits as I found out I was holding the sticks wrong for a good chunk of my "drumming life".

My band recorded our first demo 3 weeks ago and I did terrible and have been dreading every rehearsal since. When I was completely mic'd and had a click track screeching in my ear, I just couldn't keep my timing. I blew it, and we only got through two tracks out of five and they were sloppy. What's worse is this has turned into a consistent problem! I can't keep a solid double kick pattern for the life of me and it's driving me insane, not to mention my bandmates are getting very irritated with me now that they've heard all of my flaws at full volume.

Is there anything useful I can say to my bandmates to help them understand that this sort of foot development takes time? I play for 4-5 hours a day doing hand/feet exercises to a metronome but I'm seeing little improvement. I understand this sort of progress takes time, but I'm expected to play at 200bpm. Help!

This is our myspace page.

http://www.myspace.com/twiceasdead

EL PRESIDENTE and SMB are the song we recorded.

--Ray

User Info Menu

Default Re: Noob recording, how to communicate with band members?