Thread: OK to start with an electronic kit?

User Info Menu

Question OK to start with an electronic kit?

OK, I know up front that asking for advice on the internet is a risky deal, but I figure after 40+ years, my BS detector works pretty well .

I've been playing bass for a couple of years and would like to learn drums.

Is there any reason I shouldn't go with an electronic kit?

I think I'd prefer acoustic, but I'm concerned that if I do that it'll be too loud to practice in the house (and I'm in Texas, so practicing in the garage is a non-starter.)

The other consideration is that we have an electronic kit at church that isn't being used, and that's the venue I'd be playing if I can get my skills up.

My immediate plan is to get a practice pad & sticks and start working on rudiments, but I like to plan ahead a bit, so I thought I'd see what y'all thought.

Thanks in advance.
    Most people don't like most music.

User Info Menu

Default Re: OK to start with an electronic kit?

Welcome to Drum Chat ColdSteelRain!

I see no problem with your thinking at all. Many of our members have both an acoustic kit, and an electronic kit. The e-kit will have a different feel than an acoustic kit, but since you will be practicing on a pad anyway, and your will probably be using an e-kit at the church, it makes a lot of sense to go with an e-kit. You will still be learning rudiments and sticking whether you go with an acoustic kit or an e-kit, so why not go with the kit that suits your needs.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu