Thread: Upgrading My Cymbals.

User Info Menu

Arrow Upgrading My Cymbals.

Hey drummers! firstly i would like to say that this is my first post out here and im pretty excited to get some opinions.

I recently took delivery of a new DW Collectors Series drum kit, up from a pearl vision.

I purchased some Zildjian ZXT's for my pearl (14"Hats, 16 + 18" crash and a 22"ride) and I'm looking to upgrade. I'm prepared to pay premium, I'm fully aware of top model costs.

Some info - I'm a rock/pop drummer primarily, however i would like the cymbals to be versatile to a certain extent.

Opinions + Advice would be much appreciated! Thanks
    Dw Collector's Series - Broken Glass.
    Zildjian Cymbals.
    Dw Edge Snare Drum - Puresound Snare Wires.
    Evans Drumheads.
    Ahead Drumsticks.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Upgrading My Cymbals.

Welcome to DrumChat! Whoa! Congrats on the upgrade from Pearl to DW Collectors series kit! Go for broke and get some Paiste Signature Series or the Paiste 2002 series cymbals. Pop rock with bright sounds use AA or AAX. That's my 2 cents worth. Run down to your local music store and have a listen and choose the best that suits your ears! Cymbals choices are so subjective, you'll get lots of opinions here!

User Info Menu

As late8 said, bright sounds are probably good for pop rock... so AA/AAX are good, you might wanna look into some Meinl MB20's or something of the sort if cost REALLY isn't an issue.

User Info Menu

Hey, thanks for the warm welcome!

I know, i got lucky with that upgrade :p

Yeah, i was considering Sabian's, AAX and HHX are supposed to be fantastic.
    I will definitely get to my local shop and give things a test run though.

Thanks
    Dw Collector's Series - Broken Glass.
    Zildjian Cymbals.
    Dw Edge Snare Drum - Puresound Snare Wires.
    Evans Drumheads.
    Ahead Drumsticks.

User Info Menu