Thread: What is this I don't even...

User Info Menu

Default What is this I don't even...

So I got a cajon for my birthday. You know, those things you sit on and play between your legs. You could say Peruvian Box Drum... but that takes too long. Anyway, I got the Tycoon Percussion Series 29 Acrylic Cajon and it was messed. up.

The back of it seems to have been shoved into the drum. The wrapping and packaging were perfectly fine. So what I want to know is if some subtle nudge on the cajon messed it up or if it was a unusually strong force applied to the back. The rest of the cajon is in mint condition, it's just the back was... misplaced (for lack of a better word).

The back was glued to the cajon but only seemed to stick in the corners. Everything else seems to have been pulled away from the cajon quite easily.

User Info Menu

Default Re: What is this I don't even...

Man that looks bizarre but I'm no expert. Are you sure it's not made that way?
    Signature here

User Info Menu

I know it was supposed to be on the back because the corners are still there and there are abrasions all the way around that may have been glue. I'm debating refund or replace and it depends on if this was a lemon or if the acrylic is too fragile.

User Info Menu

Definitely looks like it got messed up somehow. I'd vote for replacement if it looks un-repairable.

User Info Menu

Busted stuff is an immediate return. I wouldn't have even asked the question.

The only two constants I have are DW and Zildjian.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Nechre View Post
    Busted stuff is an immediate return. I wouldn't have even asked the question.
    I'm definitely returning it. But do I return it and get the same thing (but unbroken) or ask for money back. I don't want to buy another if it's fragile.

User Info Menu

acrylic just screams fragile to me, especially if it's glued together. I would vote to get something else.

The only two constants I have are DW and Zildjian.