Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing drums in a band.

User Info Menu

Question Playing drums in a band.

How much experience do you feel is needed to put together or join a successful band? I have been playing for a little over 6 months now and i dont feel that i have what it takes to join a band at the moment.

User Info Menu

You can join or form a band at anytime. The key (to me) is for everyone to possess roughly equal skill level. This way, no one is lacking the skills that the rest of the band is capable of, or is looking for. Anyone can make their own form of "music" as any time - at any skill level, or lack of... just look at Yoko Ono...
    Regal Tip Quantum 3000 nylon tip - my weapons of mass destruction

User Info Menu

yeah....and actually the best thing that u could possibley do right now is join a band....u learn more from that than anything else i'de say...just try to find some guys or girls that are at a slightly higher level than u just enough that they will cause u to get better but not so good that u'll drag them down...u'll prolly feel uncomfortable for a while that's why it's best to start with close friends but if u can't then just explain to them that ur still new and that they'll have to bear with u while u experiment and find ur groove...good luck

User Info Menu

But be careful of who you choose to be in your band, because I joined a band thinkgin I was going to be the drummer, but I somehow ended up playing guitar on half the songs because the I can play it better than the guitar player in our band. Now I'm stuck and I can't get out. And the other problem is that these are my really close friends and they thik were good.......so keep that in mind.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by lhebs0