Thread: Playing/Learning a Song By Ear

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default Playing/Learning a Song By Ear

Well I知 slowly but surely realizing that I知 not very good at playing/learning a song by ear. I知 having a hard time, does anyone have any tips or tricks?

Thanks DC

User Info Menu

try mapping it out one part at a time.... Also practice your jamming techniques
    generally getting into the feel of the song will get you playing it the same. Follow the bass with your bass kick and use the snare when you hear. Hi hat will be easy and identify when it opens and how far...... Work through the song with just beats then go back and learn the fills one by one.....

Or alteratively.

Go buy the sheet music :P

User Info Menu

Ok, I'm no expert, but I pretty darn sure you don't play the drums with your ears. Sheesh, maybe you should have been a bass player.

Seriously though, I think you may be misled a bit by the term playing by ear. Sure very experienced misicians can easily play by ear because when they hear a phrase it alsways sounds very close to something that they already know how to play. If phrases are parts and tools, experienced guys just take the tools out of their giant tool box and put the pieces together. What you want to do is start collecting spare parts & tools (phrases, rudiments, etc.). Then as you're listening to songs you'll start to recognise a bit here or there as something you know how to play. Bit by bit you start to gain the compitence to "play by ear".
    Last edited by Roaddebris; 05-18-2007 at 10:28 AM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Roaddebris
    Ok, I'm no expert, but I pretty darn sure you don't play the drums with your ears. Sheesh, maybe you should have been a bass player.
    LMAO!!!!!!!

User Info Menu