Thread: Practice with Metronomes

User Info Menu

Question Practice with Metronomes

I'm going to buy the DB90 (recommended?) metronome this weekend and was wondering how should I practice with it? I'll be honest my rhythm is terrible and I really wanna improve it... I've been playing for 'bout 4 years but I never took my rhythm serious.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Practice with Metronomes

Rudiments at a slow tempo then increased as able to. I personally like to listen to the radio and then play rudiments on the practice pad to the time of the song thats on. It adds a little enjoyment to the practice.

I am not familiar with the metro mentioned, but should be fine. I looked for a metro with led's so I didnt have to rely on the volume of the metro.

User Info Menu

This is a video I made a while back of my favourite timing exercise.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSKPqdRRtA4"]YouTube - Timing Excercise[/ame]

Andy

User Info Menu

I tend to use 'Tempo' on my iPod Touch as a metronome. Quite versatile and fairly programmable.

User Info Menu

i own the metronome, and its pretty decent, my only beefs with it are its kinda hard to program tempo changes if u have any, the lcd display is hard to see at times, and unless you have a decent pair of isolation headphones, its only good for practicing with pads. or if u have an e-kit. and it has a pretty hefty price tag for a metronome. i wouldn't get it unless you plan on buying a good pair of isolation headphones, of course if u already have a pair ur all set lol.. good metronome for practice and such.
    Last edited by drmn4life; 04-08-2011 at 03:03 AM.
    12x5 Pork Pie Lil Squeeler Snare
    Ddrum Reflex
    22x20 kick
    10x7 rack tom
    12x8 rack tom
    16x14 floor tom

14" Sabian B8 Hi Hats
    17" Alpha Metal Crash
    19" Alpha Metal Crash
    20" B8 Ride

Pearl Powershifter Eliminator Double Pedal w/red offset cam

www.facebook.com/thebattleofmidway

User Info Menu