Thread: A hitch in my giddyup

User Info Menu

Default A hitch in my giddyup

So I've been playing for a few years now. My 4 way coordination is reasonable. If I look at a new 8th note or 16th note rock groove it just takes me a few minutes to get it down.

I ran into this 8th note groove that looked easy enough. Strangely there was something about this rhythm that caused a big hitch in my 4 way coordination to show up.

I was really surprised how much trouble this caused me. The first bar was obviously easy enough, but the second bar caused me all kinds of problems. I really had to sit down and pick it apart and add little bits of it in at a time. I think it was a combination of the broken hihat pattern and the left foot playing against the right. I ended up spending about 3 days working through it.

So has anyone else run into a pattern that just causes you to feel like a complete noob again?

User Info Menu

Default Re: A hitch in my giddyup

Hey man, think of this as a chance to improve, you have to get out of your comfort zone. Sometimes its something really easy and stupid, just be glad it isn't a beat someone in your band wants you to learn and thinks its simple.

User Info Menu

Doc d, for me it seems like whenever I do anything that challenges my 4 way coordination, I feel like a complete noob again. Congratulations on getting it down in just 3 days.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pastor_bob View Post
    Doc d, for me it seems like whenever I do anything that challenges my 4 way coordination, I feel like a complete noob again. Congratulations on getting it down in just 3 days.
    Agreed. There is a pattern that ALWAYS gets me, however simple enough.
    DW, Zildjian, Vic Firth, Remo