Thread: Gene Hoglan

User Info Menu

Default Gene Hoglan

Drummer: Gene Hoglan
    Main Style: Metal
    Main Band(s): Currently Testament and Dethklok, ex-Strapping Young Lad, Fear Factory, Death, Devin Townsend, Dark Angel
    Brief Summary: Gene Hoglan started learning the drums at age 13 and is completely self-taught. He is one of the most respected drummers in the metal scene. He is known for his accuracy, speed, and creativity as well as technical prowess, and for wearing ankle weights over his Doc Martens.

Famous Drummers - Gene Hoglan
    - Zack

User Info Menu

Default Re: Gene Hoglan

The new Testament album is AWESOME!!!
    Saw Gene with Testament last winter. He made a few mistakes but was overall pretty much on it. He also filled in for Charlie Benante who didn't show for Anthrax. He made several mistakes there too but hey! It's not his band and he doesn't play their stuff on a regular basis so kudos to Gene for the great job.

User Info Menu

I bought his Atomic Clock DVD. Some really awesome stuff on there, and some great tips on playing like him. This guy freaking rocks. Lol

User Info Menu

we can learn a lot of Gene..

iv been stealing hes material since the 90's..

what a legend

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by stuperprohero View Post
    The new Testament album is AWESOME!!!
    Saw Gene with Testament last winter. He made a few mistakes but was overall pretty much on it. He also filled in for Charlie Benante who didn't show for Anthrax. He made several mistakes there too but hey! It's not his band and he doesn't play their stuff on a regular basis so kudos to Gene for the great job.
    What's up with Charlie? I know Jason Bitner from Shadows Fall just played drums for Anthrax during the Mayhem Fest.

User Info Menu

Wow for a big guy he sure is awesome with the double bass drums. Had never heard of him before but now he got me curious to find out more on him. Great drummer.

User Info Menu