Thread: Real cymbals with edrums

User Info Menu

Default Real cymbals with edrums

Hi out there,

I'm looking to add real cymbals to complement my Yamaha dtx500 kit, and I was wondering what people's experience is with this. There was a post from 2 years ago, but since i'm a newbie I can't pm these people.

Anyway, I'm pretty set on getting the zildjian A 18" crash ride, since I love Art Blakey and how it booms through his music. Plus, I figure a ride is the best place to start when you've only got 1-zone e-cymbals, and this one also crashes well so extra bonus.

I was also thinking of adding a splash, mainly because I can put that directly on the rack with another cymbal attachment. I'm afraid anything bigger than 15" would make the rack unstable and I did some measurements and anything bigger than that might also cause some space issues. So if anyone knows anything about that, that would also be helpful.

Finally, I was playing today and realized that I liked the splash on the ekit, as well as the fast crash, so then we get to the question why buy the real thing if what I already have is fine. So does anyone have any suggestions for what to add for a interesting, different sound in the 10-15" cymbal range? Budget is $200 or less.

Thanks for all your help!

Jon

User Info Menu

Default Re: Real cymbals with edrums

So here's my two cents. Why?

I know people do it, and I'm not judging, but you have to identify why you want to combine them. It will also depend on whether you are gigging, etc...

If you combine acoustic and electronic drums/cymbals the big issue is balance. The e-kit stuff will go through you headphones, but the acoustic cymbals won't be nearly as clear.

If you gig and put it all in to a PA then you have to worry about balancing the levels. That's not a huge deal, but just something to keep in mind. Also, most people use e-kits to help balance stage volume and acoustic cymbals (in my 30+ years of experience) are a big problem in terms of that.