Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shuffle beat / triplets

User Info Menu

Default Shuffle beat / triplets

Hi Guys,

I am a self taught drummer and am looking on polishing up my skills. One thing that I have always struggled with is the shuffle beat, I cant for the life of me nail it. Can any of you recommend a way to practice this so I can just finally nail the shuffle? i start off ok and within a bar I am all over the place

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

B
    -=BrYanO=-

==================================
    Mapex Meridian Birch - Platinum Sparkle Delmar Wrap
    12" Zildjian A Custom Mastersound Hi Hat
    17" Zildjian Z3 Medium Crash
    19" Zildjian Z Custom Medium Crash
    21" Zildjian Custom A Projection Ride

User Info Menu

Default Re: Shuffle beat / triplets

Practice lots of it, start slow then gradualy speed it up only when you are comfortable to doing it without messing up. Good luck it's all about co-ordination.

User Info Menu

He hit it on the head. Just keep it "real" slow for awhile. This will ensure that you don't lose the feel in the middle of it. Only speed up slightly when you're ready. If you mess up again, slow it back down and get it perfect first.

User Info Menu

One additional suggestion I might add is YouTube. There are some really good examples of how to correctly play a shuffle *( keep in mind there are a lot of different shuffles )* Seeing the mechanics of how to play a shuffle will certainly make it all go easier, plus finding a tune that has a slow shuffle pattern to it and playing along with it will also help a lot. Just sayin~
    Yamaha Oak Custom 22x17 with Brass Kick Port, Brass Hoop Claws,10-12-14 racks, 16 Floor and all toms have Brass Hoops and a Tama Starclassic Bubinga Elite 14x6.5 snare in Quilted Mocha Burst and Black Nickel hardware. All hi-end Zildjian Cymbals - K Dark Thin crashes & splashes, a Zildjian A crash & a Meinl 16" crash, Avedis Zildjian 1964 ride, K Custom hats plus New Beat hats on Closed X-Hat.