Thread: Do I Need A New Drum Teacher?

JellyRollz Guest

Default Do I Need A New Drum Teacher?

I'm 17 years old and I just started taking drum lessons a month ago. My drum teacher is a cool guy he's young and only started playing drums 4 years ago. I like him as a person and I think that's important to have in a teacher so you don't hate him/her, but he's not very good at playing drums. First few lessons he taught me how to read a few notes and how to play basic beats and now I'm learning how to play Sweet Child O' Mine. But I he didn't teach me any techniques or fills, rudiments, paradiddles, rolls etc. I want to actually know how to play the drums before I start playing songs. Also when he tries to teach me a part of the song he messes up many times before he gets it down. I want a great teacher that can sit at the drums a play a crazy solo or at least be able to play very very well. Should i just stick it out and learn what he shows me since I'm just starting out and I'm a beginner? Should I find another teacher? PLEASE HELP!!!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Do I Need A New Drum Teacher?

He probably understands that most kids don't enjoy learning technical things, especially to start off with; many teachers begin fun to get kids interested, then go into theory to the extent that suits the student. Try talking to him and asking for a more technical approach to the lessons, if you still aren't satisfied then politely find a new teacher. Depending on the pay you may be getting a deal to work with a guy whose a bit more inexperienced in comparison to an established drummer.

User Info Menu