Thread: Double strokes and dynamics

User Info Menu

Default Double strokes and dynamics

Hi All. First the background: I played many years ago, having been self-taught. I thought I was pretty good, though I was probably atrocious. In middle-age, I've bought myself an electronic kit and a practice pad, amd am attempting to teach myself properly, just as a personal-interest/fun kind of thing (I may get lessons one day, but for now my job is just too hectically busy to allow the time).

Anyways, I'm trying to brush up on and tidy my rudiments. And I have a question about getting even dynamics on a double-stroke roll. I'm not bad at the double stroke roll, but when it gets to a speed where I'm bouncing rather than wristing, I have the impression that the second stroke on each hand is always a bit softer, which makes for uneven dynamics. What's the secret for getting the dynamics even with this rudiment (and indeed, any rudiment that includes doubles)?

I know there is this technique of clasping the fingers after the rebound to force the stick down for the second stroke. I'm trying to learn that, but it's very slow going! And I have heard drummers say that evenness is possible without it (this affable chap, for example:

But how? Any thoughts? Or do I just have to persevere with that finger control?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Double strokes and dynamics

slow down and listen to the music

its all in the wrist, dont be afraid to choke back on your sticks
    Last edited by kyle102565; 12-31-2012 at 07:16 PM.

User Info Menu

I think Tommy Igoe hands for life video explains doubles better than anything I have seen. I am in a similar boat as you, and my double strokes are progressing nicely, but I have put a lot of time and effort doing so. There are lots of tips, so here is mine. Work on triple strokes too, keeping them as even as possible, and then the doubles will seem a little easier in comparison.
    click to see my kit re-veneer/finish