Thread: How to tune toms like Dave Grohl on "Songs For The Deaf" by QOTSA

User Info Menu

Default How to tune toms like Dave Grohl on "Songs For The Deaf" by QOTSA

Hey everyone,

As the subject title reads, I want to tune my toms to have a deep tone like Dave Grohl on the Songs For The Deaf album by Queens of the Stone Age. Tom tuning is something that has eluded me ever since I started playing; I can never get the deep, fat, round sound, with very little resonance that I want. I use a Pearl Masters MCX 924XSP , with Remo Weatherking Coated Ambassadors on both the batter and resonant heads. Not opposed to using moon gels / duct tape if necessary to help achieve the tone, or any other sort of insulation / padding.

Here's the video for "No One Knows" from that album, where the toms feature quite prominently in the song.

As a last note, if possible (I realize it very well may not be), the more visual the explanation the better -- videos being the best.

Thanks in advance for your help!

(link removed - please reference forum rules about commercial links). - Tom

User Info Menu

Exclamation Re: How to tune toms like Dave Grohl on "Songs For The Deaf" by QOTSA

There's no post here!
    SONOR 6 pc Special Edition 3007's red maple, old Pearl Brass 14x6 FF snare, Yamaha Tour Custom maple 8 pc., Tama 4 pc., honey amber B/B, Ludwig Supralite chrome 14x6.5 steel snare, Paiste, Saluda & Zildjian
    Loaned out Slingerland upgraded 4 pc 1963 black, wrapped maple + 14" Pearl birch FT
    The Almighty Speed King pedal, Speed Cobra, Sonor Single

http://www.screaminmelinas.com
    http://www.facebook.com/DerailedRockers/

User Info Menu

Default Re: How to tune toms like Dave Grohl on "Songs For The Deaf" by QOTSA

Well, this is awkward.

User Info Menu

Tune them how you want, the deaf aren't going to hear them anyway.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rickthedrummer View Post
    Tune them how you want, the deaf aren't going to hear them anyway.
    lol +1