Thread: Absolute Beginner - Snare Drum Sufficient?

User Info Menu

Default Absolute Beginner - Snare Drum Sufficient?

Hi All,

I've tried searching here on the site, and figure this has to have been addressed previously, but I had no success in locating threads like this. So here goes. I'm an absolute beginner at drums, and have not done the first thing to start learning, which I guess is good since I've learned nothing bad. I'm getting a snare drum, and I've done some investigating on the internet about whether a single drum is the best way to start to learn. I'm going to try to find a teacher, so I start right, but there are many videos out there which may help me do something until I find the right teacher.

But back to my question. Is a single snare drum the best way to start to learn? Is it better than having a full kit? What are your thoughts?
    Now, just a tiny bit less than an absolute drum newbie
    DW Collectors Cherry kit, Ludwig Black Beauty Snare, DW SuperSolid Oak/Cherry Snare, DW Sabian Vault Edge Snare

User Info Menu

Default Re: Absolute Beginner - Snare Drum Sufficient?

Cabasner, most beginner drummers start out with a practice pad to learn rudiments..so the fact that you are starting with a real snare, then that's fantastic..you see most of us old timers started with a pad til our parents found out that we were really gonna stick to it. getting a teacher will be ideal..so you DO learn the correct technique! There are some videos here on the chat so check'em out. good luck and start hitting the skins!
    Enjoy the Music!

HOOKED ON VINTAGE ROGERS

12 tom times 3
    13 tom times 3
    16 floor tom 3
    22 BD times 2
    24 BD 1
    Dyna-sonic snare 1976
    Dyna-sonic snare 1969
    Powertone snare 1969
    24 x 12 Djembe

21" K Hybrid custom ride
    21" Avedis ride
    20" Zildjian 1970 ride
    18" A Custom Zildjian fast crash
    17" A Custom Zildjian med crash
    15" A Custom Zildjian Reso hats
    10" A Custom fast splash