Thread: Wrist pain.. had to move hi-hat

User Info Menu

Default Wrist pain.. had to move hi-hat

I am a beginner, just bought a cheap Alesis DM6 e-kit about a month ago. I have a huge problem though, my right wrist is messed up, and it hurts so bad I can't use it as my main hi hat hand.

So what I did was move the hi-hat in between the two crash cymbals, right next to the left crash except a lot lower, and use my left arm instead. My arm is pretty much parallel to the ground when I use it to hit the hi-hat. Of course it is hard adjusting to a new hi-hat arm, but I'm trying.

My question is... is this possible with an acoustic set? My hi-hat pedal is like a foot to the left, and a foot in front of the actual hi-hat cymbal..

OR

should I just shut up and put the hi-hat back where it originally goes, maybe a little farther away from me, and train myself to use my left arm with it there instead? Thanks for any tips.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Wrist pain.. had to move hi-hat

Yes it is. You can use a remote hi-hat like the DW one pictured (with an 8 foot cable) below. Pearl and a few others make them also.

1964 Ludwig Downbeat Black Diamond Pearl (12,13,14,16,20)
    ALL of its Original Hardware

Ludwig Stainless Steel "Bop" (12,14,18)

Ludwig 1947 Standard Deluxe w/Art Gold hardware 3ply Maple 6.5 x 14
    Ludwig 1959 LM470 Auditorium 3ply Mahogany 6.5 x 14
    Ludwig 1959 LM908P Jazz Festival 3ply Mahogany 5.5 x 14
    Ludwig 1964 LM400 Supraphonic 5 x 14
    Ludwig 1968 LM410 Super Sensitive 5 x 14
    Ludwig 1969 LM404 Acrolite 5 x 14
    Ludwig 1976 LM400 Supraphonic 5 x 14
    Ludwig 1977 LM401 Lacquered Brass Supraphonic 5 x 14
    Ludwig 1978 LM405 NYC Bd of Ed Acrolite w/factory Imperial Lugs 6.5 x 14
    Ludwig 1984 LB552 75th Anniversary Engraved Bronze 6.5 x 14
    Ludwig 1990s LM404 Black Galaxy Acrolite 10 Lug w/Silver Monroe Keystone 5 x 14
    Ludwig 2010 LB417BT Engraved Black Beauty 6.5 x 14
    Ludwig 2017 LB402B COB Supraphonic 6.5 x 14