Thread: session advice needed

User Info Menu

Post session advice needed

Hi drummers, im after some advice. I've been asked to play a session for an artist who is recording a single and i said yes, why not!.
    I've never done a session before so i have no idea what it entails. I have plenty live experience with the bands i've been in and have done a few recording sessions with well rehearsed parts but im a bit nervous about this upcoming session. I have never worked with the artist and have not heard the song im supposed to be putting drums on. Is it normal to just turn up and wing it? I know the producer and he has told me they have no idea what they want drum wise until i go in. If any session guys on here could shed any light on what the norm is i'd appreciate it.
    Cheers

User Info Menu

Default Re: session advice needed

Unless they have a chart for you I guess they are gonna have to be happy with what they get lol

User Info Menu

yeah thats what i thought, it just seemed strange to me but im new to it. i can only do what i can do i suppose

User Info Menu

Very strange, not even a demo tape for you to hear?

User Info Menu

Something is definitely wrong with this.

User Info Menu

My thoughts align with NR - I've been in that situation before. Guy knew I was a drummer and liked what he had heard from my original band, but gave me nothing to go off on what he needed from me in the studio. So I show up and we jam a few times before we hit the record button. It was simple and I didn't feel any pressure - he was happy with what he got as well so it all ended up ok. I think it really depends on their attitude and expectations. It may help to discuss this a little before going in so you get a better feel on what their expectations are, and maybe help steer it a little bit in a better mental direction for you too.

User Info Menu