Thread: 6-inch Heads

User Info Menu

Default 6-inch Heads

I'm planning on replacing the head on a 6" drum. This is a Toca Timbale Snare. It's basically a 6" timbale with a set of snares that touch the head from the underside, like an LP Microsnare.
    My question is, what would be the best head for this purpose? It'd need to be cranked up very high, but also pretty thin in order for the snares to work with it. What's the thinnest head that can be tuned very high?

User Info Menu

Default Re: 6-inch Heads

You should be asking the boys down in the Percussion part of this forum. There you will find experienced hand drummers who can help you out.

User Info Menu

This isn't a hand drum though. It's more for drumset players anyways, so I figured more people here would see. It's just a standard 6-inch drumhead.

User Info Menu

Clear Ambassodor. Or a black dot.

User Info Menu

what do you hit something that small with? i'm not too good with finesse
    RDM/Damage Poets
    UFiP TAMAHA Zildjian
    REGAL TiP
    AQUARIAN

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by slinky View Post
    what do you hit something that small with? i'm not too good with finesse
    It's on a percussion set-up, basically where a regular snare drum would be on a drum set. Not too easy to miss the way it's mounted, but if it was somewhere else...forget about it.

User Info Menu

I've a couple of little 8x6" micro snares, one came with my Trixon co.cktail set (in orange sparkle) and the other is a black acrylic snare made by a mate of mine who works in one of my local drum shops. I know the little Toca snare you're talking about, as that was one option I was looking at before Nick made me my micro snare.

The two snares mentioned, plus my Tama 12x4"Nickelworks steel snare in the background.