Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it just me, or are wuhan cymbals fragile?

User Info Menu

Default Is it just me, or are wuhan cymbals fragile?

I've been using the same 14' Wuhan China for about 3 years now. Just recently, it got two huge cracks in it. I don't know if that means Wuhan isn't very high quality, or what, but it cracked. Am I hitting too hard? Is it just the cymbal? Or, do all cymbals break over time? What are your thoughts?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Is it just me, or are wuhan cymbals fragile?

It's hard to say what caused the cymbal to break. There are a number of factors. Wuhan china's are fairly popular. But to answer the question, yes, cymbals can and do break. Most of the time it's due to abuse- technique, hitting too hard, too tight on the stand…
    TAMA- '2018 Star Walnut, ‘99 Starclassic Performer, '89 Granstar, ‘93 Rockstar
    Gretsch- 1963 Round Badge
    Zildjian
    Remo
    Vic Firth
    Speed Cobra Double Pedal Blackout Edition
    Speed Cobra Hi Hat
    Hardware- TAMA Roadpro
    Snare Drums- various TAMA, Gretsch, Ludwig, Leedy
    Mic's- Sennheiser, Shure, AKG

User Info Menu

Alright, thanks for the help

User Info Menu

You're welcome. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful but like I said it's hard to really tell why it broke.
    TAMA- '2018 Star Walnut, ‘99 Starclassic Performer, '89 Granstar, ‘93 Rockstar
    Gretsch- 1963 Round Badge
    Zildjian
    Remo
    Vic Firth
    Speed Cobra Double Pedal Blackout Edition
    Speed Cobra Hi Hat
    Hardware- TAMA Roadpro
    Snare Drums- various TAMA, Gretsch, Ludwig, Leedy
    Mic's- Sennheiser, Shure, AKG

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat Ryan!

There are indeed higher quality chinas to be had - also quite a bit more expensive. A lot of people like the Wuhan chinas especially because they are cheap, so if they do crack, they're not too expensive to replace.