Thread: Tips For New Drummers

User Info Menu

Question Tips For New Drummers

I am somewhat a new drummer, I have been playing for about 3 years, and I am sure that I am doing some messed up things, and not doing some important things. Any tips for me and any new drummer?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Tips For New Drummers

First tip, have fun and enjoy what you're doing
    Second tip, stay relaxed and try to hit the pocket
    Third, find what you love and make it yours... gotta own it

What style are you into?

User Info Menu

Learn to read. It will make learning so much easier and self-sufficient.
    "The problem with information on the Internet is that you can not validate it's authenticity. " -Abraham Lincoln

SILVERFOX DRUMSTICKS & SOULTONE CYMBALS Endorsing Artist.

User Info Menu

Practice with a metronome, at least sometimes.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by 8beat View Post
    Yes! This advice has already helped me!

User Info Menu

Learn a lot of songs. Keep your ears open and absorb. Look at songs not only from a drummer's perspective but think about the melody, the lyrics, etc. and how they all work together. Play for the song first before you even think about playing a drum fill. Take lessons from more than one teacher so you get different approaches. Learn a bunch of styles, you'll work more.

The owner's of this site have another site called drum tips, where you'll find thousands more.

Good luck and of course drumchat is chock full of tips and valuable information from thousands of experienced drummers.

User Info Menu

Welcome!
    I'm not a Pro but don't practice 1x a weak 2 hours but at least 5-6 x a weak 30 minutes - 1h (depends on your level)

Protect your hearing and use Hearsafe.

Take Lessons and be open for a bunch of styles.

Matt Putato wrote a very helpful article:
    [deleted - sorry skills, with the exception of paid advertisers, links to sites that sell commercial product are not permitted - Tom]