Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decided to start lessons again

User Info Menu

Default Decided to start lessons again

First off, I apologize that this is so long. Bear with me for a moment...

So, I decided to start taking lessons again as I feel I'm at a point where I'm not making progress like I should be. Even though I try, at a minimum, to squeeze in 20 minutes a day to practice, I feel like I'm just not going anywhere.

I found an ad on CL for an instructor who only charges $20 an hour. Some red flags starting going off in my mind right away because of how little the instructor charges. I started reading the instructors credentials.

His bio states:

"Drumming of all styles! learn from a drummer whos passionate about all music and styles with over 15 years experience in live, studio and home surroundings."

It then goes on to say:

"I love drums!!!! So here's a little history about me, i've been playing drums now for over 15 years and have more than 200 live shows under my belt Opening for acts such as P.O.D, Lazarus A.D., Death Angel, Brotha Lynch, Outlaw Josie Wales, MXPX, Lag wagon, Filabuster, while playing various different styles which includes: hard rock, classic rock, pop, country, blues, jazz, hip hop, rap all the way to Rock, Metal, Grindcore and Punk rock, as well as one full major studio album recorded by engineers who worked with Greenday, The Killers, Metallica, Bush, Tool, The Who, Tom Petty, Celine Dion and many more!!! I teach beginner to advanced, less book and more feel, but i do teach how to read drum tab, So hey..!!!!!! I love music and i love to teach music. So if you love drums and wanna learn what it takes to make it happen- I hope to meet you soon!!"

I Googled his name and found him listed on a very reputable site for music teachers in the area. I read all the reviews and they were all extremely positive.