Thread: Mics, Mixers, and Live Sound

User Info Menu

Default Mics, Mixers, and Live Sound

Hello everyone! I have a complex problem that I hope someone could point me in the right direction. Please assume I have zero experience with recording/live sound.

Just this past Sunday, my Worship Team Leader stopped me to let me know that he is going to propose a budget to have my kit completely enclosed and mic'd for our Sunday services. Up until now, I have been just on stage behind a plexiglass shield. He wants to try to control the volume a little more and be able to record. I told him that I would do some research.

I have a 7-piece kit with 4 cybals and hat. After a little research, I think I am going to go with the Samson 8-kit plus the Samson 3 pack of snare/tom mics. This will allow me to mic all my toms, bass, hi-hat, and snare (top and bottom), and have two overheads in the x/y setup. 11 mics in total

Which brings me to my delima... I am looking for a 12 channel mixer that will be cost efficient. I plan on keeping that near my kit so I have control over the sound, but then running the output to the main board. I also plan on running the monitor line into the last channel so that I can use the setup as an in ear monitor with headphones.

I hope I made sense and please tell me if I am trying to attain the impossible. I have had no experience with mixers so I don't even know if my idea is even possible. Thank you for your time.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Mics, Mixers, and Live Sound

Do you have an FOH soundman?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Northern Redneck View Post
    Do you have an FOH soundman?
    Yes, but only one free channel on that board. I want to pre mix the drums, send it to the main board, and have a monitor line come back to the pre mix board so that I can use it as an in ear monitor. (Have a channel that only I can hear in my headphones.)

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Xioz View Post