Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tuning new drum set and snare

User Info Menu

Default Tuning new drum set and snare

Hey there everyone,

I just got my first drum set last week and I am excited to delve right in and have already been learning some basic things to get me started. I went through several different tutorials with how to tune all the toms, the snare and the bass drum but I just wanted to see if there was any other helpful advice fellow drummers had for me on here about tuning?

The thing is, I do not know what I am listening for since I am a newbie. It is a 5-piece Pearl Roadshow and from what I can tell, the floor tom sounds good and so do the other 2 toms, but I feel like the snare is a little off somehow.

I followed instructions carefully for tuning in opposites and seating the head for each of them and again, I think the toms sound ok but the snare is giving me a problem. How is it supposed to sound? Should it be a slightly higher tone than the other 2 mounted toms? It makes a vibrating sound when I play the other toms and from what I read, that means that 2 of them are tuned too much alike, is that true?

If you have any tips on what I should do next or how I know I have gotten them all tuned correctly (again, if it's incorrectly tuned, I may not be able to pick up on it as much as an expert would), that would be MUCH appreciated!!

Thanks!

-Ty

User Info Menu

Default Re: Tuning new drum set and snare

Congrats on the new drum set. Go to YouTube and look up drum tuning videos published by Evans drumheads. The guy's name is Bob Gatzen or something like that. He makes it so so so easy to do.

http://youtu.be/uJ9Unab1OzU
    Last edited by CycleDude; 11-16-2015 at 05:31 PM.
    Kevin
    DW Performance series - Gun Metal Metallic Lacquer
    24/12/16 6.5x14
    Sabian AA/AAX hi-hats & crashes
    Sabian HHX Evolution ride

Drummers can be very tempomental.....

User Info Menu