Thread: Best Starter Electronic Drumkit?

User Info Menu

Default Best Starter Electronic Drumkit?

Hi everyone.

So, I've got my acoustic kit sorted and I'm happy with that. I'm a complete beginner & I work away and was thinking about getting an electronic kit to practice on while I'm away during the week.

Does anyone have any pointers as to what I should go for, what sounds good, what's not going to break after a few months. I'm after something with a small footprint. I've had advice that I should maybe look at something with mesh heads if I can stretch my budget to it.

Any info at all is gratefully received, any anecdotes about kit you've got/had any brand experience is welcomed, stores to buy from, stores to avoid etc.

Budget around £500 (uk)

Look at me, Ands!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Best Starter Electronic Drumkit?

I gave up on e-kits in 1998.
    So I have no idea what is good and bad out there right now.
    My advice is this...............

Once you decide on what is best for you, buy used if you can.
    Save the pounds............
    Gretsch USA & Zildjian
    (What Else Would I Ever Need ?)

User Info Menu

Search for compact digital drum kits. They sound more like drum kits and are small enough for travel.

User Info Menu

See if you can find the Yammy dtx500 (or used 502), as only the yammys and rolands (more expensive) have programs which measure your accuracy and make you better.

What exactly do you mean, by work away? Like always in different places? If that is the case, Roland makes an electronic practice pad which is good.

8beat, I tried your advice, didn't see anything much different than advice on buying ekits...

Anyway, my philosophy on ekits is that if they cannot give you feedback on the accuracy of your playing, they really lose their value as a practice tool...

RE mesh heads, well some of us like them, some of us don't. I would rate that a less important aspect than how well the module works, sounds and options it gives you...