Thread: New drummer with some questions :)

User Info Menu

Default New drummer with some questions :)

Well first off hello. My name is Theron and I'm 15 (16 next month). I started playing the drums last month. My dad used to be a drummer when he was younger so he showed me the basics and gives me tips now and then and i pretty much just go off on my own from there watching videos online now and then.

For a drum set i'm using a pretty old 4pc Remo drum set with like 35 year old zildjian cymbals according to my dad. Zildjian is engraved into them haha. So i'm using a pretty old school drum set.

But yea anyways for my questions....

First-
    I started working lately and sold a lot of my old paintball guns so my wallets pretty packed full at the moment and i was looking at drumsets.

{EDITED: You can post pictures but not links to the commercial stores - Admin}

are the ones that caught my eye. (Sorry if links aren't allowed). I'd probably pick up some um more recent zildjians to go with it to haha. What do you guys think would be my best bet for a drumset? I will be playing in a indie band later on in life me and my friends are all practicing a lot.

Second-
    I have a problem with my foot and the bass drum. The problem is i cant get myself to hit the bass drum at a different time then i hit something with my lead hand and i end up hitting the bass drum everytime i hit the high hat or the ride. Anyone have any tips and practices i can do to try to get rid of this problem?

Thank you,
    Theron(MaTrio)

User Info Menu

Default Re: New drummer with some questions :)

As for the coordination there is no shortcut. Get a good book and have your father teach you to read. Start working on exercises you will learn.

I do not know what you are looking at but whatever you do DO NOT get rid of your fathers old Zildjians. You will regret it later.
    DW Collectors
    Vintage Superstars
    Roland TD-20
    Misc. Snares
    My Web Site

User Info Menu