Thread: A good kit for playing metal?

User Info Menu

Default A good kit for playing metal?

I started learning on a mate's kit, a 5 piece yamaha, that I no longer have regular access to. I want to buy my own now, and the main things I found lacking in my mate's kit were that it only had 3 toms and that the pitch of the toms was too low, and that the hi-hat stand didn't have a good feel to use.
    I already have a double kick pedal, and I know that I want a 3-sided drum rack for mounting cymbals and toms. I figured I would start out with a set that has 4 toms and if possible without cymbals, preferably second hand although I may have to buy new (for lack of choice of 2nd hand kits in my area). I will be playing rock and metal (mostly black metal and death metal), and I don't know too much about drums, so i have a few questions..
    In general, are there any particular series of drum kit that people can recommend for those genres, bearing in mind that I want no less than 4 toms and a set with some quality - something I would keep for a number of years, at least. About toms: what is the difference in sound between open and closed-bottom (is there a technical term for that?), and how does coating on the skins affect the sound and feel? And since I'm getting a drum rack, should I get a standard hi-hat stand, or a cable-operated one like this:

I guess it's also important to ask about thrones, as I want something that will be comfortable to sit on for hours at a time.
    Any info will be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

User Info Menu

Default Re: A good kit for playing metal?

Ok, like I said in the other thread... a 6-piece is great. It sounds to me like you want a birch kit rather than maple. You'd probably go for 10/12" rack toms and 14/16 floor toms. A lot of black/death guys are getting into 20" bass drums for a faster response and a better punch. Yes, you want drums with resonant (bottom) heads.