Thread: remo fiberskyn3

User Info Menu

Default remo fiberskyn3

jus put a fiberskyn 3 on my snare last nite highly impressed ,more than likely gonna do my12 n 16 but weiry of the 26. has anybody put one of these on a bass drum? which side , good, bad, worth the money ....?

User Info Menu

Cool remo fiberskyn3

Haven't put one on my set, but I have a Remo tumba with a fiberskyn head that I play along with my wood-shelled CP quinto and conga, both of which have regular skins. I dig the way the Remo contrasts with the CPs--the fiberskyn sounds warmer and more "ballsy"--that is, deeper--than the regular skins. I imagine it'd give a warmer sound on a set drum. If I were to install one on a bass, lou, I'd put it on the beater side.

I have also played Remo bongos with the fiberskyn heads--and admittedly most drummers don't play set with their hands--but I like the way the fiberskyns feel when you're playin' fast or a long roll...your hands don't hurt so much!

Hope this helps...
    keep the beat goin' ... Don't keep it to yourself!

Charlie

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away." --Henry David Thoreau, "Walden," 1854

"There's a lot to be said for Time Honored tradition and value." --In memory of Frank "fiacovaz" Iacovazzi

"Maybe your drums can be beat, but you can't."--Jack Keck

User Info Menu

Default Re: remo fiberskyn3

A plus regarding Remo Fiberskyn 3 heads on toms, floor toms and bass. I use them all of the time since the early 90's. They give a tone of a thin calfskin. I like to play samba (Batucada) and the bass is played by Surdo. In Brazil they use both calf and a fiber head on these fat drums. A 14" - 18" floor tom with a fiber head can fill in as a faux surdo for fat beats and also be used for Djun-Djun parts for African drumming.

Love it!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by lou reed View Post