Thread: Sos!

User Info Menu

Default Sos!

hey guys. i need some serious proffesional help with my double bass. i have been using double bass for about two years which in my opinion is enough time to know how to play heel up, heel down and the heel toe technique, this is where i'm at - i play heel down, if find that you get great control but it is not the best method when it comes to speed and consistency ,so, i started playing heel up to achieve this.

now, i know some bad drummers who if can manage anything, its heel up double bass and yet, i have never had so much trouble achieving something on my kit ever, even learning my paradiddles were easier than learning this - and i hated that.

let me expand - i'm not sure if you guys have ever experienced this but i am able to play very fast when i'm just tapping on a flat floor heel-up. i can go without getting tired or screwing up for 2min or so. BUT THE SECOND I GET ON THE WOBBLY PLATFORMS OF A KICK PEDAL!!! i lose my balance, i start kicking as fast as i can and the heads kick the skin at the same time! also, when i initiate it takes me 8 pulses to get them going and then they simply murmur against the skin. please help me, i would like to join a band soon, i have waited very long because i never believe a drummer should do a single gig if he is unable to achieve what he/she set out to do and this is the thorn in my side. please detail me all that you can about this, i put a similar thread up some months ago but really need some in depth advice,instructions and excersizes thanks progmuso

User Info Menu

What i did was start playin everything with just your left foot and after a while playin with my left foot it became just ordinary so then i would start lettin my right foot sneak in in the middle of a rythm and then more and more and then boom i was like dynamite...but the lessons are not a bad idea.

User Info Menu