Thread: buying drums?

User Info Menu

Default buying drums?

I just started drumming and I have a practice pad. I was looking at this set at a local guitar center and it's just the drums for $200. It is a 5pc. set, and it is used. Comes with a snare base pedal and hi-hat stand. I was just wondering if it is worth buying it.

User Info Menu

Default Re: buying drums?

What brand/model ect?

User Info Menu

I believe it was like db drums or something haven't been able to go to the store for a week.

User Info Menu

and i am fairly new to drumming so I don't know the model or to much and don't remember the sizes

User Info Menu

Hmmm... Maybe DW? I would say if it's in decent condition and has all the hardware it would be tough to go wrong at $200. Floor kits at Guitar Center tend to be poorly set up so it's probably out of tune and such. Maybe not right away, but if you bought some nice batter heads I bet you could get a decent sound out of even a low level kit.
    zerOrings are bad people.

User Info Menu

al right thanks for the advice I might get to get it tonight so might have a pic up

User Info Menu

my guess is ddrum and we would need to know model to evaluate
    Yamaha DTXtreme III FrankenXpress w/ various pads and cymbals
    Pearl Eliminator w/Vater Bomber
    Roc-N-Soc Motion
    Vater 7A Sugar Maple
    Simmons DA-200S
    Sony MDR-7506
    MacBookPro Core2 Duo 2.33,4gb,500gb w/SD2, Reason 4, and LE9

http://s591.photobucket.com/albums/ss358/Charlygo/

User Info Menu

yeah it was ddrum thank you i will look further into it to tell you guys details

User Info Menu

is ddrum a good company?

User Info Menu

pretty sure that it is a dios walnut i believe

User Info Menu

Whoa there tiger! A Ddrum Dios walnut kit is from their exotic series, and the shell pack alone sells new for about 2 grand USD.

Please let us know when you've checked it out.
    Why do psychics have to ask you your name? And how come you never heard of a psychic winning the lottery?