Thread: New guy here

User Info Menu

Smile New guy here

Hello all,Dave Huffman here. I have been playing drums for about 40 years.
    I currently play GMS-Payne Perc. drums & use Zildjian sticks & cymbals.
    I live near Champaign IL. & play drums in the Full Throttle Rock n Blues band
    I have been over at Drum Forum.org since it started & was on the old drumcenter.com forum before that.
    I also have a mid 80's Ludwig kit with a 14"X28" bass drum 13"X14" rack tom 16"X16" floortom & a 5"X14" ludwig metal snare. I am having the drums refinished in a red silver Duco style paint job.
    I use DW 9000 series pedals also & GMS cymbal stands.
    I love to talk drums & druming!

Dave H.
    Last edited by Dave H.; 01-08-2007 at 09:10 AM.

User Info Menu

Cool New guy here!

Hey, Dave, you're in the right place! I'm a bit further south of you, in the Granite City area....

As you can probably tell from the avatar and my site name, I dig hand percussion (and have played same with several groups in the area as well as my "steady" gig as percussionist for my church's guitar group).

You're gonna find a lot of guys and gals who love to talk drums--and since you've been playin' for 40 years, I'm sure you've got some advice you'll want to share along the way!

Later for now, Dave...
    keep the beat goin' ... Don't keep it to yourself!

Charlie

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away." --Henry David Thoreau, "Walden," 1854

"There's a lot to be said for Time Honored tradition and value." --In memory of Frank "fiacovaz" Iacovazzi

"Maybe your drums can be beat, but you can't."--Jack Keck

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat Dave! The "experienced" guys are what really add character to the group and make it that much more valuable for everyone. Glad to have you on board.

User Info Menu

GMS... sweet stuff. welcome to drum chat.