Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pearl Masters MCX vs Vision VMX?

User Info Menu

Default Pearl Masters MCX vs Vision VMX?

I am stuck between these 2 drum sets. Without getting into prices, what is everyone's opinion and please go into detail as to why you would choose one over the other. I haven't had a chance to hear the vision vmx. But a local shop has the master mcx and i love the way they sound. Yes I am still a beginner but I have been leaning towards a set made with maple instead of birch. That is why I am looking at higher priced sets, I just enjoy the sound of maple drums more.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Pearl Masters MCX vs Vision VMX?

The MCX may have fancier finishes and some other cosmetics, but when you have an identical shell (VMX vs MCX) you can achieve an identical sound.

This goes back to the discontinued pearl lines that used the masters shell, but less expensive hardware.

If you are talking about a purely functional bases, I could get the same sound from a 7.5mm maple VMX that I could from a 7.5mm maple MCX.

In this economy, I go for function over form, not that the VMX are that shabby. The MCX has more sizes and "virgin" kick option which is overrated.

Personally, this is a great finish, maybe not quite as elaborate as the masters, but it looks pro:

This drum has all I need, to sound and look pro, I don't need to spend 3x as much for the same sound.
    I don't care if the kick has a tom mount on it. *I* have no problem making the kick sound great.

This is all the pearl kit I need:
    Pearl VMX926FPC266 VMX Vision Maple 6-Piece Shell Pack