Thread: Help!

User Info Menu

Post Help!

I have a snare drum tryout coming up soon but every time i preform i get really nervous. Any tips?
    Last edited by tarheeldrummer13; 01-11-2007 at 06:07 PM.

User Info Menu

Hey I havea VERY similar situation...i have tryouts the 18th! I get super nervous. So I usually tell my director that i get nervous, and he usually cuts me some slack. He knows that im a good drummer when im not nervous. Just try going over and over the material a lot so u really know yur stuff. I dont know...also try breathing!! I tend to think that that helps.
    "Playing drums is like making love. You can't be looking down seeing what's going on trying to get the flow right!" --Drumline

Drums are what keep the band together!

Hold up! Wait a minute! Let us put some drums in ti! Ya'll ain't ready for what we about to put down. The badest drumline in the land! What we are you can't smoke, you can't sniff it cuz we were born with it. Get ready to see how we put it down Dragons style! Drumline get your thing on! --Drumline (modified)

User Info Menu

im not sure how nervous you are, but i once read and have been told on numerous occasions that although noone likes nervousness it helps you preform much better. This is however not the case if your dripping sweat, knees quivering so much that you cant stand up nervousness. But generally when you have that queasy butterfly feeling you perform better, i dont know why but its the truth.

However try to take it this way, be happy about your nervous or try to enjoy it i know this sounds incredibly stupid but you dont get to have this feeling often and you only have it because you are worried you will screw up, but you get to do something you love right, and you need to trust yourself, if you can confident, you can still be nervous and you will perform fine (if that makes sense).