Thread: interval

User Info Menu

Default interval

Hi
    I'm new. I have been playing drums for about 4 years. I purchased my son a set and became interested myself. I've had a couple lessons, but I mostly just learn form him or his books and find helpful info on the internet.
    I have been on a quest to learn how to tune since the beginning. We have a beginner quality set. 12,13,16. What intervals would you say would work for these unevenly sized drums? I don't think they have a much of a tuning range(phil magh/basswood interior). Could the top two easily do a minor 3rd?
    I use single ply coated on top and single ply clear on bottom. Tuned the same. Easiest for me!
    Thanks

User Info Menu

Default Re: interval

Welcome to Drum Chat Peggerk, and congratulations on being bitten by the drumming bug! You and your son will be able to share a cool adventure together.

As to tuning, if you go to the navagation bar (the black bar at the top of the page) you will see "Drum Links" on the right side. Click on that and you will see a drop down box that will have a link to Drum Lessons." These are Drum Bum's free lessons. Look for the lessons on "Tuning" and you will find this a great resource.

As to the intervals, there should be no problem tuning your toms in 3rds. I have 10", 12", 14" and 16" toms, and I tuning in thirds. Another common interval is 5ths.

Hope this helps, and again, welcome!
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

youtube bob gatzen
    ZildjianLeague/LP/Aquarian/Mapex/Pearl
    Snares: 4
    RIP- Frank, Wolvie, Les Paul
    Quote Originally Posted by Pearl MCX Man View Post
    I wish I was your wife
    Quote Originally Posted by amdrummer View Post
    if double bass is cheating then so is using two sticks

Forum Rules
    DrumBum