Thread: conga purchase advice please

User Info Menu

Default conga purchase advice please

Greetings,

I am a novice conga player and african drummer (dounoun, djembe, sabar) living in tallahassee. I came across your site and wanted to ask you for some advice.

I own two gonbop drums that I think are from the 70s. A quinto and a conga. I would like to know more about them.

I would also like to ask you about vintage conga drums, whats what, what is good, and what can be obtained relatively easily... How do I go about researching this.

I also want to know about more recent drums form the 90s and 2000s

the reason is be cause I am approaching a professional level and need right now at least one more conga and a tumba so I can practice with more than 2 drums....

the music being practiced is folkloric cuban, haitian, brazillian, and puerto rican stuff as well as popular music of these countires and african countires and calypso (trinidad, other west indian nations) and jazz/soul/funk

I dont have much more than 500 to spend on one drum or perhapse 300 per drum if I was going to buy two.

Maybe one day I will get a set of some signature drum that costs upwards of 800 per drum, but I just want quality drums that I can work on and perform/record on for now.

And I dont really know much about this stuff.

My teacher thinks that a matador or bauer would be the way to go, he doesnt think i can afford for example a patato, giovanni or armando paraza signature drum, and we are not sure what makes those drums so grerat.

if u can tell me about drums that would be wonderful and if u know how i can find more info on my two gon bops that would also be great.

thanks

I really need to get a third drum asap.

I need a conga

it needs to blend with my vintage gon bop tumba and quinto

i cant wait around to find a vintage gon bop or valje although i know they are both awesome and affordable... (I got my two gon bops for 300 for both)