Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cracked Cymbal Worth Repairing?

User Info Menu

Default Cracked Cymbal Worth Repairing?

I was wondering if anyone has tried other methods besides drilling out cracks. I work in a factory that has a circle shear and I could actually clamp the cymbal down and shear probably to the nearest inch on the other side of the crack. I actually think it would work but I don't know for sure. I might take one in next week the only problem is I gotta not let the bosses see me.

User Info Menu

Do it, it works great, I have done it several time, you just don't want ot take off to much, if the crack is to big, and it requires you take off alot, the sounds will change ALOT, most of the time the cymbal will get real pinging, good luck.

User Info Menu

sounds complicated. but amazingly
    cool at the same time.
    I AM SABIAN MAN!

Next Drum Purchase: Piccolo Snare
    Next Cymbal purchase: Splash cymbal and splash claw.

User Info Menu

Hey Ddrum when you say too big of a crack what is the limit that you would say about how many inches. I guess its probably best to trim down to the nearest inch right?

User Info Menu

Hello brando2112 let say you have an 18" cymbal with a 3" crack, you can cut it down but it will sound horrible, because you have taken away to much material, the closer you get to the bell, the worst it is going to sound, here is my limits on a 20" cymbal my crack limit is 3", 18" 2 and 16" 1", hope this helps.

NOTE: also try to cut perfect in between the grooves, this also helps with the sound.

User Info Menu

Thanks ddrum for the advice I will let you know how it goes hopefully it will sound pretty good

User Info Menu

No problem, goodluck, just remember the further away from the bell the better.

User Info Menu

Indeed it is my friend! What should i use when i cut the cymbal? scissors?
    "Music is always an experiment."

User Info Menu