Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drum skills, what do you use?

User Info Menu

Default Drum skills, what do you use?

I am a self-taught drummer, been playing off and on since 1976. I learned by watching and playing to records, that’s right vinyl records; it was always a challenge to place the turntable so it did not skip while I played.

A friend showed me the two stroke, and paradiddle rolls about ten years into my playing, never really spent the time to get them down, never used them either. Recently I started to take lessons for the first time, to expand my vocabulary and to just be a better drummer, I am still struggling with the two stroke roll and paradiddle, I know that these rudiments improve your playing and can only be a good thing.

Most of the drummers now days have very strong rudimentary skills, and they use them in there playing, at least in there demonstrations, and solo’s, my question is how often do you all use these rudiments in your every day playing. I am pretty much a single stroke player and mix things up just by bouncing randomly around the kit , it works for me but my desire to be more trained has taken me down the “teach an old dog a new trick” path.

Is there hope for this old dog?

KM
    http://www.myspace.com/thebanters

I'm still the best Keith Moon type drummer in the world
    My friends call me Keith, but you can call me John.
    - Keith Moon-

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum skills, what do you use?

Welcome to Drum Chat kickman. Yes, you can learn this after many years but you may need to change your mindset. Get "very" serious and dedicated to learning this once and for all and do not accept failure as an option. Do not worry about their use so much right now. Trust me when I say; a whole new world of drumming will be opened up to you when you start to master double stroke rolls and paradiddle-like combinations.