Thread: Dotted Notes

User Info Menu

Question Dotted Notes

I was told by one musician that when you have a dotted note you are supposed to hit the stick to the drum and hold it there rather than letting it bounce back up. Another musician told that is incorrect. does anyone know the answer to this and if so, does anyone know where I can find it on the internet to verify it to show to the musician that is incorrect? I am new at drumming and am very careful not to learn something the wrong way and then have to unlearn it and relearn it the correct way!
    Barbara in Sunny, hot Florida

User Info Menu

Default Re: Dotted Notes

Welcome to the forum! I have never heard anyone use the first method, There's really no point to holding your stick to the skin that I am aware of. I hope someone else can key in with some advice. F/T

User Info Menu

With the drum, you hit it and lift it back up. With a cymbal, you hit it and let it ring out the amount of time it is notated for "only" (you would stop it with your hand at the end of the notated value). To understand how to play a dotted note, you must understand what a dotted note means first. It simply means that a melodic note is carried out a said period of time. Because a drum hit one time can not carry out a note (like a melodic instrument), all we have to do is hit it one time until the next note comes around. The other exception to this is a roll. If it is written in the music that you are to play a roll, then you would play it for the amount of space notated instead of just hitting the drum once.

User Info Menu

Okay drummers...class is now in session:

The Note: Every note (Whole note, Half note, Quarter note, Eighth note, sixteenth