Thread: Is latin music going to help?

User Info Menu

Default Is latin music going to help?

My teacher consists that i should learn to play latin music on drumset. I'm a rock drummer and my goal is to play progressive rock and some funk & jazz. Is latin music going to help me or it's just a waste of time? (i actually enjoy to play latin but i don't want to give more emphasise at latin music than i will ever need)
    Last edited by adccnotbe; 08-18-2009 at 06:45 AM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Is latin music going to help?

Absolutely learn it. Those rythyms played in a rock style open up so many different options.Listen to a bunch of Latin rythyms and then listen to Portnoy...or if that doesn't convince ya that they work in a rock setting..just listen to Dave Weckl play them.After ya hear Dave, wipe the drool off ya mouth,get back up (his playing will knock ya over), and plan on practicing for the rest of your life to get to about 1/10th of Weckl. The guys just a freak of nature........This would have been a good *Frank question*

User Info Menu

AB. . .SO. . . FREAKIN. . . LUTE. . . LY!!!

It will help you with your 4 limb independence. It will help you to write in things other than straight 4/4. You can apply the beats, or variations thereof, in rock / jazz tunes. Go the the 'Cowbell Grooves' thread in here and look at the 'Late in the Evening' video someone posted. That is a pop tune with a Latin beat.

I am taking lessons again this Winter to bone up on those Latin grooves. I can play corruptions of them, but I wanna learn the real things. ('Real' in the sense that they are adaptations of a whole percussion section to a kit, of course.)
    And the trees are all kept equal by hatchet, axe, and saw. . .

User Info Menu

It's "insists", not "consists" for the record. Not criticizing you but just helping a buddy out.