Thread: need advice- hi hats

User Info Menu

Default need advice- hi hats

Okay I am new to drumming and I need to know if the hi- hats are supposed to come together parrallel with each other or slighty at an angle. Thanks!

User Info Menu

I don't understand what you mean man.
    Band: System of a Down
    Song: Atwa

Current: four way independence

User Info Menu

i can't remember what its called but i think your talking about that little screw that pushes the bottom hi hat up....its located underneath it....am i right...

generally people tell me to screw it about 1/4 the way up but i prefer to keep it all the way down to get a tight, no unwanted sizzle kind of thing.

just like tuning your skins its there for you to experiment with and find what is right for you...! so go and experiment....just don't break it

User Info Menu

yea if that is what your talking about i prefer the hates to almost be touching.
    Band: System of a Down
    Song: Atwa

Current: four way independence

User Info Menu

Yeah, mex is right. There's usually a little screw on the bottom of your hats that tilts the bottom hat. It's all about experimentation, just mess around until you find something that works for you.

HB58
    My Kit: Pearl Session Custom 7 Piece w/ Zildjian Cymbals
    My Band: Lead Redemption
    Current Favourite Band: Necrophagist
    Current Favourite Song: To Rid The Disease - Opeth
    Next purchase: Pearl 18"x16" Floor Tom, Zildjian A Custom Crash

Rudiments?

User Info Menu

Got it. I guess I am thinking the drums are a cut and dry set-up. More of tuning to taste it seems. My old hi hat stand was a mis match duct tape situation that was crooked. My hats were always at angle no matter if you adjusted the tilter to extremes. I purchased a new hi hat stand last night on my into work and noticed the hats now sat even, or parallel to one another. Just had to ask which was to be correct. Thanks for your input.

User Info Menu

No problems j. Glad to help.

HB58