Thread: Need advice?

User Info Menu

Default Need advice?

I'm 16 and I am a new drummer and need advice. I have an old drum set and its in my living room and the problem with this is that my mom hates how loud it is plus I want to be able to listen to my music a practice. I need to know if I should keep the set and get the drum silencers they sell or get an electric kit.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need advice?

Hey man, I was in your shoes for a while, and I ended up buying an electric kit. Let me tell you this - they're great for practice, but if you ever want to jam with some buddies or go play a show, your going to need that regular set. Playing with anyone else with an electric kit is a huge hassle. You have a few options here: get mesh heads or muffler pads, as well as mufflers for the cymbals, or you can get a practice pad kit, which is basically a stand that holds five or six practice pads in the appropriate locations for playing a kit. My advice is hold on to that set...you're probably going to need it.

User Info Menu

Yeah, keep the acoustic set and get the silencers or mesh heads. As for playing music, I got a pair of noise cancelling head phones and they work great for playing from my iPod.
    Matt

User Info Menu

Vic Firth drum mutes are great for muffling sound, however, they won't completely eliminate the sound. Your mom might still get annoyed when you're playing and they do change the feel of the drums a bit (especially your cymbals). However, this will definitely be your quickest and cheapest solution (you can get a set for $50 - $60) and it will allow you to keep your acoustic set.