Thread: Anyone ever heard this?

User Info Menu

Angry Anyone ever heard this?

I have been rehearsing with a classic rock three piece for about two months. We have a practice space the size of a glorified closet with guitars, amps, pa gear, and of course...my drums. I am consistently being told that I am playing loud. Mind you I have never:

Broken a drumstick
    Broken or dented a drum head
    Broken or damaged a cymbal or any other drum hardware

Unless you play electric kits, drums just don't have a volume knob. In case you haven't gotten the jist of this thread yet...I'm getting a little P.O'd about this. I have tried to play with a lighter touch but changing my style like that effects my technique and while I'm not the best drummer by any means, I do pride myself on playing cleanly. By lightening up I am unable to do that to my satisfaction.

So my question is has anyone else here had a similar problem and if so, how was it ultimately resolved?

Thanks for the help.

GM206
    Last edited by Greenmonster206; 10-16-2009 at 03:08 AM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Anyone ever heard this?

It sounds to me that you like playing in the band with your bandmates - is that right? Maybe have a serious group meeting and let them know how you feel (if you haven't already done that). It's tough playing drums in a small place with a group..........I've been there. I guess one way would be to tone your drums down with a lot of muting........although that really sucks sometimes - or - do what Steve Smith....and I.......do - play with Tala Wands. Give it a try - you may like it. It feels good and you can whack (sorry - play) your drums harder but you get a less harsh sound in return.

Just some thoughts from an old fart..haha

Have fun....that's the main thing,

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Greenmonster206 View Post