Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Always count?

User Info Menu

Default Always count?

I'm just starting out, but I noticed that some beats I try to play go much better when I just play them rather than trying to count (mainly when I try faster stuff).

I'm wondering from those who play songs or in a band, do you always count or do you play from feel/memory, at least sometimes?

Since I'm a newbie, I make sure to count, but I was curious for down the line.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Always count?

RR, my drum teacher wants to smack me upside the head when she realizes that I wasn't counting something. I'm like you in that I like to "feel" the music, but it is a mistake, because counting will help set that internal clock that keeps us right on the beat. Our job is to help the band know where where the beats should fall, so if we lose track of the count, we could take down a whole band. Eventually, the count becomes internalized, so for now just keep counting.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

"Count" in the practice room, "play" in the band.

That said; you don't have to literally count all the time every minute of every practice. Break it up and trust your instincts. As long as you record your sessions now and then, you'll be able to listen back to make sure you were on time.

User Info Menu

If you get to a speed where counting becomes difficult, just stop counting e's and a's, or even +'s. Counting the ONE,2,3,4 etc is a lot better than not counting at all.

User Info Menu

Yes, I should clarify.

I found I was just playing by feel, but I would end up either counting 1,2,3,4 or 2,4, etc. I just dropped the other stuff because it got in the way of playing.

But yes, I'm doing everything slow enough at first so I can count aloud.