Thread: Is this OK to do?

User Info Menu

Default Is this OK to do?

I have a Tumba Conga and Quinto. I was thinking of using the conga tuned as the quinto and the quinto tuned down to the conga. The reason is just to give me more room with my hands on the skin.

Is it OK to tun a conga that high? or would it not sounds as good. Also, I only use the conga occasionally (to my left) Quinto (tuned hi.. in the center) and Tumba to my left.

So I play mosttly Quinto and Tumba.. and occasionally hit the conga.

So, OK to have the bigger conga in the middle tuned as quinto?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Is this OK to do?

Sure you can, in latin music most conguero's prefer conga/ tumba, some even play conga, conga, tumba. I've done it and the conga police never came knocking on my door

User Info Menu

Default Re: Is this OK to do?

As long as the drum still sounds good your fine. Each drum wants to be within a certain range of pitch. For example my tumba sounds like junk if I tune it too high and likewise too low. The drum should tell you! Everones setup is different. What works for me is conga in the middle, tumba just touching the right knee and my requinto about 10 inches off my right thigh. Sounds funny but it works for me.

User Info Menu

Cool Re: Is this OK to do?

Quote Originally Posted by jdl1881 View Post
    I have a Tumba Conga and Quinto. I was thinking of using the conga tuned as the quinto and the quinto tuned down to the conga. The reason is just to give me more room with my hands on the skin.

Is it OK to tun a conga that high? or would it not sounds as good. Also, I only use the conga occasionally (to my left) Quinto (tuned hi.. in the center) and Tumba to my left.

So I play mosttly Quinto and Tumba.. and occasionally hit the conga.

So, OK to have the bigger conga in the middle tuned as quinto?