Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your first drum set

User Info Menu

Default Your first drum set

I found some pics at my parents house the other day of my first kit. It was handed down to me from my brother. He bought it used in '84 (the year I was born) and I started playing it around '92 or so. These pics are probably from about '97 or so.

Anyway, the kit itself is an 1982 Yamaha 7000 series. Standard 12,13,14,16,22 config. Shells are Agathis & Philippine Mahogany, 9 ply for the toms, 10 ply for the bass drum. Wrap is obviously chrome. This kit weighs a ton. I was fortunate enough to have this kit as my first. It served me very well and I still have it today. It lives at my bands practice space and still gets used all the time.

What was your first kit?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Your first drum set

This was my first drum kit:

This was my second kit:

[IMG][/IMG]

This is my current:

Yep, it's all the same kit lol
    - Zack

User Info Menu

My one and only kit, PDP EZ 5 pc.

See "Show Us Your Drums" for pics.
    Matt

User Info Menu

Bought off a friend for 60, served me well for a couple of months until i bought my Gretsch!

"We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give." - Winston Churchill

User Info Menu

First ever kit!!! Sessio Pro in Wine Red

Btw, please ignore the tom placement, and come to think of it, the placement of everything! This was nearly 6 years ago and I'd been playing for around 2 weeks! lol
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Mapex Drums | Zildjian and Meinl Cymbals | Evans Drumheads | Pro Mark Drum Sticks

User Info Menu

Well, I don't have any pics, but I got it back in 1978 and it was a "Royce" 3 pc. red in color.

Anyone ever hear of that brand?

User Info Menu

Pearl Export 1978 in silver
    www.myspace.com/gozrock
    www.myspace.com/video/rid/110115140
    Mapex Meridian Maple
    22"x20"
    10"x7"
    12"x8"
    14"x12"
    16"x14"
    Mapex Black Panther Sledgehammer 14"x6.5

Sabian AAX Cymbals