Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting over at age 43 1/2 (but who's counting?)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default Starting over at age 43 1/2 (but who's counting?)

Hello, drumchat folks! I thought I'd introduce myself and ask a few noob questions. I'm 43, happily married, have two kids ages 12 and 9, and am returning to the drums after a 25 year estrangement.

To make a long story short, I had some natural talent and a year or so of lessons, practiced/jammed with a few wannabe bands but never performed "for real", and then packed up the drums when I graduated high school in 1984.

I still have the five piece black Pearl set with New Beat hihats and a no-name crash and ride. Other than some pitting on the chrome hardware, the drums are in great shape. I set them up every few years, and surprise myself at both how much I can still play, and how rusty I am. A couple of years ago put new Evans heads on everything, in a short-lived burst of ... something.

I've never really been able to STOP playing the drums. I play along with whatever music is playing, on the steering wheel or my legs or the table - I'm sure you know how it is. When I hear a good song on the radio, I can't help but visualize myself in the drummer's seat, playing along.

I'm at a point in my life where I feel the need to fish or cut bait. I want to take a shot at playing drums "for real." If I can't keep it going, I think I need to surrender the dream, stop calling myself a drummer, sell the kit, and get on with my life. The "I coulda been a contender!" feeling is too pathetic.

So, I just set up the drums in the basement again, ordered the Groove Essentials DVD and companion set (they should arrive today), printed out a sheet of rudiments, and started watching some of the many free drum lessons available online.

I'm going to take a shot at this.

So, some questions: