i am in the market for new drumheads.
    which remos?
    FIBERSKYN, NUSKYN or SKYNDEEP
    i'm a beginner.
    thanks

User Info Menu

Default Re: remo conga drumheads

Hello R42,
    I prefer real skin over plastic any day but when the weather is bad during the winter months I have a set of Remo Nuskyns tucked I'll throw on to get me through the wet months. I have a set of Evans that are so ringy I can't even give them away! Real cow skin is my favorite on wooden congas and mule or water buffalo is great on fiberglass. If your going to chose a plastic head depending on which congas you have you may want to take your rims to the shop with you to make sure the heads fits.
    L4C

User Info Menu

thanks for the advice.
    it is appreciated.

User Info Menu

i am torn between the fiber and nuskyn's.

User Info Menu

Fiber skins are too papery in my opinion, everytime I hit the drum I feel like my had is going to rip right through the head. I can never seem to get a solid feeling stroke on a fiber. The nuskyn on the other hand has a great feel to it, solid and feels more durable. Nuskyn has that synthetic sound, but with about a third of the ring that the Evans have. I will always suggest cow skin for congas, but if you must go synthetic Nuskyn is the only one I would go with.

User Info Menu

Luv4congas so the mule or water buffalo really sound good on the fiberglass congas. I have two congas with original heads one is original NewJersey model LP and the other matador. I'm thinking about switching them if its worth it. Also who has the best pricing on these heads. My 11" drum has a Nuskyn on it and sounds really good so if the buffalo will make that much of a difference I'm down.

User Info Menu

*deleted*
    Last edited by Gretschhead; 11-10-2009 at 06:57 PM.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fishkiller View Post