Thread: New....

User Info Menu

Default New....

Here is my set only a couple of weeks old with the stock heads. They sound aweful, overtone and ring everywhere. My drum teacher tuned the and got them to sound the best they can. I am going to beat on them for a little while because I am a noob and why change them just yet. When I go to get new ones what do you guys suggest? I read alot of reviews at Musicians Friend and they all kinda go in a cirlce. Some say Evans others Remo's and Aquarian. Some say mix and match. I was wondering if I could get some tried and tested input from all of your knowledged minds. And do you think its all right to leave the stock resonant heads on for a little while after I change the batter heads?

Any input helps.

Thanks

User Info Menu

When it comes to heads, a lot of it is personal taste. I myself prefer Remo heads, as other drummers like Evans.....check out some other drummers' kits, see what they're playing, see what sounds you like (or don't like).....at any rate, a good set of Remos OR Evans heads will make a huge difference in the sound of that kit....as far as mixing heads, I would not suggest it...kinda like mixing toms, or mixing guitar strings, ya know? Also, if you change the batter heads, it will make a difference, but I would suggest changing the resonant heads as well, and as soon as possible.

And, welcome to DrumChat, and welcome to drumming! (nice kit, too!)
    Word to the wise : don't mess with the drummer.

User Info Menu

I reckon batter (top) heads make more difference than resonant (bottom) heads. To tell you the truth, I still haven't changed the stock resonant heads on my Pearl kit, and I think it sounds great.

Another brand of skin to check out is Attack. I've got friends who are mad for them - particularly the Terry Bozzio skins. They're slightly cheaper (in an attempt to get market share), but same quality level.

But yeah, seems to all be about personal taste.

User Info Menu

Im a Remo fan myself