Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: rubber or mesh heads? (you decide: video of side-by-side)

User Info Menu

Default rubber or mesh heads? (you decide: video of side-by-side)

Hi all...

now that i have my Roland TD-9SX all set up (and am selling my Simmons SD7K), i decided to do a side by side comparison of the responsiveness of the mesh (Roland) vs rubber (Simmons) heads....

here's a video!

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7bWsugi2yc"]YouTube- MVI_0081.AVI[/ame]

indeed, i'm no expert on tensioning heads, but the Roland is OBVIOUSLY much more responsive...!

sure, you pay a pretty penny for that!!! but if you are serious, you might want to consider an upgrade to mesh heads at one point...

- prime

User Info Menu

Default Re: rubber or mesh heads? (you decide: video of side-by-side)

It will be interesting to see how the new DTX-PAD from Yamaha compares.

I'm betting the replacement for the DTXpress IV will only have one of those for the snare, but I'm hoping the toms will also be upgraded to some version with the new material.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by primemover View Post
    Hi all...

now that i have my Roland TD-9SX all set up (and am selling my Simmons SD7K), i decided to do a side by side comparison of the responsiveness of the mesh (Roland) vs rubber (Simmons) heads....

here's a video!

YouTube- MVI_0081.AVI

indeed, i'm no expert on tensioning heads, but the Roland is OBVIOUSLY much more responsive...!

sure, you pay a pretty penny for that!!! but if you are serious, you might want to consider an upgrade to mesh heads at one point...

- prime
    Just to be clear/fair to other manufacturer's of rubber pads...there are much better rubber pads out there than the Simmons pads.....but, yes mesh pads are responsive...almost too much so (alot of people don't like the unrealistic bounce they have)......Also another comparison would be to add a real drum/mylar head in the mix...to see how they compare to each other